The Compilation 2012 | MindStep Music

MindStep have been a formidable force in deep dubstep for some time. Consistent with their drops and keeping to a dub-heavy blueprint they have established themselves as one of the key labels in the scene.

The Compilation 2012 marches their heavyweight roster out in force. Overseas names like the mighty Tallan stack up alongside homegrown talents such as fellow Mancunian Djinn & Londoner Karma. Deep rumbling subs, tribal percussion, spacial atmospheres and distorted dub sounds keep the vibe keen and meditative.

For newcomers to MindStep this is a great introduction to a fantastic and highly relevant imprint. Fans will also enjoy the summing up of the best releases from the past year. All contemplative bass heads, cast your pounds and pennies in this direction.

Buy from Juno

sample packs

Robot Bodypop 12.05.12

artwork by Beomyoung Sohn

Yes! The Robot Bodypop show once again. This weeks show does not deviate from the high standard we set ourselves with more killer bass music than you can shake a dub siren at. Delving into some old classics with a cut from Ratpack and brought right up to date with music from Razor Rekta, some roots influenced vibes from Jahtarian Dubbers, the mighty Tallan as well as the odd exclusive, Peaman most notably. As always theres freebies in there to get your grubby little hands on and keep your ears peeled for the competition to win tickets to Cable. This week we’re flying without a guest mix so its just the two of us carrying you through for 2 hours. Enjoy.

Tranquility – Controlled Kaos
Keep Rackin VIP – Kusto
The Don – Nas (Hype City RMX)
Defen Ze Gener8r – Peaman (Vocal Mix)
Defen Ze Gener8r – Peaman
Hedge Your Bets – Taz
Leviticus – Phillip K Dick (Footwork RMX)
I Was Standing With My Rizla – Ratpack
Rude Boy In A Stylee – Big Kann & Plastic Jam
Full Throttle – F
You Want – Inkarv
Atmosphere Pressure – Gatekeeper
Apologies – NDread
Dark Ages – Eddie K & Minus ft Beezy (Vodex RMX)

Yellobone – Salva (Shlomo & 2KWTVR RMX)
Original – Baobinga, Kahn & Rider Shafique
Lapdance – Aeolho
Only One – Tallan
Georgia – Enigma Dubz
Reference One – Fornax
Aztek – Razor Rekta
Never Knows Best – Sook (Boot RMX)
Trust You To – Joss Ryan
Do You Remember The Time – JMSN (Hwood RMX)
Deaf Ear/ Swirling Light – Acre
Bullets Will Bounce – Jahtarian Dubbers
Great – Hatti Vatti ft. Echo Ranks
Security – Compa

Robot Bodypop 31.12.11

artwork by Brian Despain

Here’s the final Robot Bodypop radio show of 2011. A massive thanks to all the support from DJ’s, promoters and producers alike for the heads up on releases alongside the many exclusives. The vast majority of these tracks are free downloads made available for Christmas 2011 by the artists so have a listen and if they aren’t on the blog, we’ll tell you where you can pick them up. Enjoy and Big Up!


LV 246 – Sleeper & District
Standoff – Dark Sky
Sentinelese – TMSV
Kind Of Voodoo – Indigo
Pluto – Reaction
The Void – Ollie Bassweight (3rd Eye Negative Space RMX)
Severneya – Structure (Widowmaker RMX)
Dokument – Commodo
Dark Passenger – B9B
Gutter – District
Descendant – Reamz
Level Down – Tallan

Reachin – Clueless
Amphibian (Glitter Mix) – Eskmo
Waiting On You – RekChampa
Live And Learn – Skream
Top Gear – Skream
Shadows – Blynk
Headbop – Retrospect (50Hz) feat. Maksim
Bad Language – Riskotheque
Hear Me – Resketch
Keep It On The Low – ENiGMA Dubz
Before I Move Off (Starslinger Refix) – Mount Kimbie
Halcyon & On & On (Ollie Macfarlane Edit) – Orbital

Freebie Roundup

Christmas was good to us fans of quality bass music. Freebies flying out from all manner of Facebook, Soundcloud and Twitter pages.

First up is 3 tracks from TMSV. All 3 are solid and deep tracks:

“I wanted to give away these 3 tunes to say thanks to everyone who’s been supporting me this year.
2011 has been a very good year for me and I hope that 2012 will be even better.

Thank you for listening to my music, spending your hard earned money on my releases, downloading my mixes and coming to see me play…it really means a lot.

Sentinelese and Levitate are two of my earlier 140 bpm tunes, from 2007/2008. Smoke is from 2010.

Thanks and have a great 2012,

Tomas / TMSV”


1. Sentinelese
2. Levitate
3. Smoke


Next is a badman stepper from NZ based Tallan named ‘Level Down’.

Belgian producer B9B drops the moody vibes on ‘Dark Passenger’

4 killer cuts on the strong Widowmaker EP


1. Structure – Severnaya (Widowmaker remix)
2. Widowmaker – Strike
3. Widowmaker – Shredder
4. Vex’d – Cold (Widowmaker Bootleg)


And we managed to finally find working links for the Screwloose Records free Christmas EP which is in equal parts hench and banging. Check out cuts from Teknian, Zanetic, Loko and Nowan alongside others. Grab it below.

Check this fresh freebie from Riskotheque. Featuring bad language, naturally.

This free EP from Resketch blew us away. So much goodness! Grab it here and preview below.

Vibing to this tune recently, check the stylings of ENiGMA Dubz from Birmingham. Also free!

Also fresh out this month a new plate from Star Slinger. This is a wicked track. Bag it.

Lastly, this kid has killed it in 2011. Ollie Macfarlane‘s recent free EP holds promise of a steady rise in 2012. Not to be missed. Grab it.

Robot Bodypop 30.11.11

artwork by mikrotom

DOWNLOAD (right click and save)

Got Me Burnin’ – RD (Phaeleh RMX)
The Ninth – Sub
Cages – Dubtek & Press
Border Control – Tallan
Dub Discipline – Dom HZ & Synkro (Synkro RMX)
Form The Standpoint – Eskmo
Kingfisher – RSD
Turn Away – LV
Love Cry – Four Tet (Joy Orbison RMX)
Everyman Different – Henry & Louis ft Pacey (Mungo HiFi RMX)
Vanquish – Reso
Clockwork – Macabre Unit
Think About You – Rowl (ICU)
Delusions – Anex

Palma Violets – Checan
Um Bongo – Kamikaze Space Programme
Horizons (Philip D Kicks footwork jungle remix) – LTJ Bukem
Demon Breakz – The Last Hero + Beat 70
Dragon Song – Parhelia
Fearful Symmetry – High Contrast
Shadower – Throwing Snow
What’s There – Dauwd
Silken – XXXY
Never Meant To Be – Dekoi
Hugo Chavez – Das Racist
Eyez – Digital Mystikz
Untitled – Penance

Robot Bodypop 23.11.11

artwork by Jacopo Rosati

DOWNLOAD (right click and save)


Why – Emmerson & Klauser
Deeper – Heavy Hearts
Pencil Pimp – Sepalcure
Rainfall (Bugz Dirty Bruk Down Mix) – Nitin Sawhney feat. Rodney P
Waiting On You – Rekchampa
Stolen Dog (Ollie Macfarlane Remix) – Burial
This Much – XXX
Trap Door – Zomby
Twin Towers – Hatcha vs Kromestar
Shadows On The Wall – Silent Dust feat. MC DRS
Renegade Snares (Footwork Edit) – Phillip D Kick
Blind Soul- Blu Mar Ten feat. Stray

Green Blue – Author ft. Ben Glass
Cold Blooded – Kryptic Minds & Youngsta
Power Decline – UNLTD
Around Driouch – Akkacher
Discreet Dub – Calibre
Lament – Phaeleh (DJ Madd RMX)
Escape Myself – Answer Code Request
Sleepless – Flume ft. Anthony For Cleopatra
Fally Rankin – Johnny Osbourne (VIVEK RMX)
Cinemtaics – Quantax
Birds – Truth ft. Dutty Ranks
Dark Jazz – DFRNT (DJ Madd RMX)
Babylon – Juju VS Gregory Isaac
Recolo I – Tallan